Smoked snack sticks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Smoked snack sticks?

Anyone have any recipes or experience doing smoked snack sticks?
    -My fingers smell like fish...but I have a excuse!

Yep
    Started making my own a few years ago...

I get the snack stick mix from Frisco Spices (Hobarts) here in Omaha. Give them a call and find out when the next class is for home sausage making. It's free and I learned a lot in that class (4 hours). Some of the best tips of "what not to do" came from this class that I was thinking about doing I have went twice just to pick up things that I didn't at the first class.

I follow the directions on the back of the bag snack stix mix and they turn out great! Feel free to PM with questions. I am not an expert but have made a lot of smoked snack stix (deer or beef), deer bacon, and breakfast sausage.

Do you do any of your own processing now?

It is rewarding to me to produce your own product (especially if others like it)!
    There are two pains in life! The pain of discipline, and the pain of regret!

Comment

Jalapeno/Cheese recipe

I've used this recipe several times, and it's some of the best I've had. Found this on another website, so can't take credit for it, but I love it.

5 lb. ground venison
      1 lb. ground beef
      2 cups water
      3 Tbsp Mortond Tender Quick (cure)
      2 Tbsp Non Iodized salt (I use Kosher)
      3 Tbsp Course black pepper
      1 Tbsp mustard seed
      1 1/2 tsp. Onion powder
      2 tsp Garlic powder
      4 Tbsp Soy Flour ( don't add to other spices)
      1 cup Jalapeno Peppers (chopped)
      2 cups High temp cheese ( I like pepper jack)