Getting Trailer in Garage

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting Trailer in Garage

I bought a new boat this month and I love it. It does fit in my garage, however it is a SOB to get in. I have about 1" clearance on each side. I'm not the world's best trailer backer upper and it takes me an embarrassingly large number of tries to get it in. What I have been doing is to put down some sheet metal just outside the garage entrance and grease it up. I can get the trailer tires on that pretty easy and then I get out and push it over to line up perfect.

Any better ideas out there?

I have the same problem. My driveway is uphill and I get blindspots on each side. I am still learning to take my time and not worry about traffic on my street. I have not found an easier way, but I am in the same boat (pun intended) as you. One plus is it makes the boat ramp a piece of cake.

Comment

I put paint marks on the garage floor approach and try to line up the trailer tires to those. Then I disconnect and push it in by hand. One inch of clearance would be a serious problem with anyone. Don't care how good you get, it just isn't enough. Don't blink.

Comment

Make the garage bigger.

Comment

I have about 8 inches of clearance on either side backing up into my garage, and it often takes me several attempts. Once I get in, though, the garage opens up a bit on each side so I don't need to slide the boat around. For winter storage, I put the trailer wheels up on dollies so that I can push the boat into (and out of) a tighter area in the garage and save some space, but putting a boat on dollies during the season isn't very practical.

Other than installing car-wash style wheel guides and bolting them to the floor in exactly the right spot, I'm not sure what can be done in your situation.