Boat shopping

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boat shopping

im thinking about buying a new aluminum boat. What size boat and engine do you guys recommend for fishing the Missouri River? Tia

I have not fished the Missouri myself, but the guy I bought my current boat from was an avid Missouri fisherman and waterfowler and very obviously knew what he was doing. He had an 18 foot aluminum boat with a 60 HP tiller-handle outboard for the Missouri. Said something along the lines of, "You don't want to be under-powered on the river..." about 17 times in an hour's conversation.

Comment

Lots of things go into a new boat purchase, and the primary body of water is one important consideration. As are: primary and secondary fishing style, recreational use (skiing, tubing, etc...), kids, budget, etc... Can you give us some more details and then we can offer some suggestions.

Comment

I have some experience in this, I went through the same process about 4 years ago. Are you mainly fishing for catfish? If so you want the live wells in the back of the boat not the front. Also NO CARPET. For the love of GOD you don't want any CARPET.. Sand, mud, slime and carpet don't mix. You will have to talk about hull. A deep V, a modified V, or a john boat type. I went with the Modified V for a little bit more stability with all the big boat traffic, but i will admit a flat bottom boat might might get me into skinnier water. I have 60HP motor and that works for me, of course I wanted something bigger, but budget was in play. I mainly anchor up, but if you want to drift you might need a bigger trolling motor. If had to do it all over I would get a G3 Sportsman 200. my boat is a Alumacraft 165 classic, I love it, but I already want to trade it in for a true river boat. Also you want the best electronics you can afford when financing. www.BigMuddyFishing.com