Heat pump and furnace

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question: Heat pump and furnace

Does anyone know about how much a new heat pump (15 seer with the new R410a coolant) and a 80% efficient furnace should run? We got a quote of $8,700 to install both of them and a new touchscreen programable themostat that controls humidity levels in the house. Not much of a HVAC guy, any thoughts would be great.

I am no expert but if your going to spend that much, I would first look into geo thermal. Good luck

Comment

it can vary a lot depending on sq. footage and brand name, get at least 3 bids and make sure they are all installing comparable units. I had bids $2000 apart when I replaced my furnace A/C last year

Comment

I only got two bids. One was from the owner of a reputable company that is good friends with a guy I work with that could cut me a deal. He said he could go $2,000 less but couldn't get me the warenty I was getting, nor was it with the newer R-410a refrigerant. I'm getting lifetime warenty on the condenser coil, 10 years parts and labor on heat pump and furnace. Thanks for the advice guys. Oh and by the way, it's a 2 1/2 ton heat pump unit.

Comment

Originally posted by TheDean View Post
          I am no expert but if your going to spend that much, I would first look into geo thermal. Good luck
          :aayeahthat:

We had a geo-thermal loop back in Indiana, and that was an impressive system. We could have left our AC off all day on a day like today and had the house back down to 72 degrees in about 10 minutes. Uber efficient, too.
          Oh man! I just shot Marvin in the face!

Comment

I am not a professional but....