fall turkey hunting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

fall turkey hunting

im new to the turkey hunting scene, ive got great land to hunt, it has tons of birds, and ive heard that you hunt them differently in the fall than you do in the spring. ive been told to just go around until you find them or go to a creek with alot of trees, or even scatter them and call them in in smaller groups. whats the best way to hunt for them?

I am also new to the scene, but from the info I have read, turkey hunting in the fall is really similar to hunting pheasants. Turkeys in the fall flock together, where as in the spring I beleive the Tom is alone hunting down females, so you have to call to them. I look for cover along creek beds or divisions in fields. On a good note I went scouting down on the land that I can hunt and right when we pulled up there were two groups of turkeys on both sides of the road in the trees.

J.T.

Comment

Originally posted by lunkerman
      im new to the turkey hunting scene, ive got great land to hunt, it has tons of birds, and ive heard that you hunt them differently in the fall than you do in the spring. ive been told to just go around until you find them or go to a creek with alot of trees, or even scatter them and call them in in smaller groups. whats the best way to hunt for them?
      Fall Turkey hunting is very different from spring turkey hunting...it's all based on the birds' behaviors. In the spring, Turkeys are interested in mating, and therefore, calls etc. are based on their fancy little mating ritual. In the fall, however, Turkeys are more interested in feeding and group up, usually with the older males separating from the rest.