Bow Hunting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question: Bow Hunting

I am a novice bow hunter and missed probably the biggest deer I've had a chance to shoot. I have always rifle hunted but recently took up bow hunting and am loving it. I probably shouldn't have taken the shot I did, I went right over his back. I think he got spooked during me drawing back. I just had a couple of questions for the pros.

1) If I feel comfortable shooting 40-45 at the archery range is that a decent distance to shoot? Is it irresponsible to shoot that far? He was right at 40 yards this morning when I shot.

2) When missing a buck like that will he fall back into his tendencies right away or will he get spooked from the area?

3) I am shooting rage 2 blade broadheads. I am thinking of just going what most people use and shooting a regular 100 grain muzzy.

and

4) When do you draw back when you have multiple deer in the area? Do you ever shoot while sitting? I stood up without any deer noticing it was the draw back that seemed to get their attention. Probably just sloppy hunting on my part.

Thanks for all your help and good luck to everyone this year.
    SpringerFan

Tuff luck, it happens though, don't loose any sleep over it, there will be more.

My definition of effective range is;"however far you can shoot a paper plate, 8 out of 10 times, with the two misses being "dang" close to touching the plate".

This summer I could do that out to 60 yards but wouldn't shoot at a deer that far. That is 180ft. For an arrow traveling at 300fps (which is pretty quick), that is almost 1/2 a second of reaction time for a deer. Which may not seem like much, but if the deer knows somethings up, he can drop pretty far in 1/2 a second, enough to miss over his back anyway.